Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Curriculum Resources for Faculty: Home

Explores the supplemental services offered by various Database vendors for faculty to supplement their course curriculum.

 

Content

Curriculum Support

Many of the databases to which the Cleveland Health Sciences Library subscribe provide services for faculty that support instruction. One main feature is the ability for faculty to submit their syllabi to the support staff of the database provider, who will then match the resources of the database to the curricular content.  This is a novel and valuable service of which CHSL encourages faculty to take advantage.

Other features of these collections is access to image collections, video assets, and granular access to the contents of books by section or even at the paragraph level.  All of these collections can be used in course support software, such as Canvas.

Feel free to explore the tabs to the right of this introduction, click each tab and review the services provided by the various content providers.

HS Talks

The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection (https://hstalks.com/biosci/)

 

About

Henry Stewart Talks Ltd (HSTalks) is a leading provider of specially prepared, animated, online, audio-visual lectures, seminar-style talks and case studies for medical schools, business schools, universities, and commercial enterprises in over 60 countries around the world.

Based in London, UK, HSTalks publishes two highly regarded collections (The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection and The Business & Management Collection). They are both available on annual subscription with licenses granting unlimited access 24 hours a day every day of the year.

Editors and lecturers are leading world experts and practitioners, including Nobel Laureates, drawn from academia, research institutes, commerce, industry, the professions, and government. The collections are continuously expanded and updated and may be easily embedded in online learning environments such as Moodle and Blackboard.

HSTalks is a member of the Henry Stewart Group which has been a leader in providing graduate and continuing professional education in science, business and management for over 40 years through peer reviewed vocational journals, conferences, and online education for medical schools, business schools, universities, government, and commercial enterprises.

 

Collection

The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection (TBLSC) contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centres, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies.

There are over 2,000 contributing editors and speakers, complete series of lectures covering both the fundamentals and the latest thinking and developments, complete course modules with full supporting material (suggestions for projects, workshops and tutorials); recommended reading (research papers, review articles and book chapters); multiple choice questions and suggested exam questions with bullet points of model answers), accredited tests for US Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and UK Continuing Professional Development (Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine of the Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom) and more than 100,000 slides. All content can be embedded in Moodle, Blackboard and other online learning environments.

 

Course Support

HSTalks offers a complimentary recommendation service matching multimedia content to your needs.  As a Faculty member, you can send your syllabus to HSTalks, and a representative at HSTalks will match content to your curriculum. https://hstalks.com/send-syllabus/

Content provided by HSTalks can be used to support courses, including:

  • multiple choice questions and suggested exam questions;
  • bullet points of model answers;
  • accredited tests for US Continuing Medical Education (ACCME);
  • more than 100,000 slides;
  • embedded content for Blackboard, Moodle, and others.

 

Access

Full access to the collection should be immediate when on campus/onsite by entering www.hstalks.com/biosci in your browser. If there is any difficulty contact your library or HSTalks at support@hstalks.com.

Once you have access to the site, you can Sign Up for a personal account and log in later from remote or offsite locations to access content.

Searching content can be done via a search box, then searches can be refined or filtered. Searches can also be done via the Browse method, by exploring a Subject Area and looking through content.

 

Content

Content displays initially with the Title of the talk, the presenter/author, the institution, and the date published.  Next is a series statement, identifying where in the content collection the material resides, followed by a brief abstract of the content.

HS Talks Screenshot

Under the abstract, you can click Play to view the lecture; More Details, which provides a list of Topics Covered, a Slide Index, a Speaker Bio, and MeSH Headings; or Watch Later, which will save the lecture if you have a personal account.

In the Presentation View, pictured below, you can view the presentation, view printable handouts, view the slides and navigate a slide index, view the topics covered, view links to other material in HSTalks, and view citation information: including publication information and disclosures regarding conflict of interest.

Also, on the presentation page is a button you can use to embed content in your course platform.


Back to the Top

JoVE

(https://www.jove.com/

 

About

JoVE is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Millions of scientists, educators and students at thousands of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for their research, teaching and learning.

 

Collection

There are over 12,000 videos in the JoVE collection. The collection of videos is divided into two main areas: Research and Education.

  • Research -- Filmed at the world’s top scientific institutions, JoVE videos bring to life the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments enabling efficient learning and replication of new research methods and technologies. Producing 1,000s new videos every year.
  • Education -- JoVE educational videos empower effective teaching of science concepts and laboratory methods in undergraduate and graduate courses at universities and colleges. These videos enable quick in-depth comprehension of complex STEM subjects to increase student engagement and learning outcomes, and support innovative teaching initiatives such as blended learning and flipped classroom.

 

Course Support

JoVE customer support team members can reach out to teaching faculty to facilitate embedding science videos into their course materials and systems such as LMS. They will answer any technical questions from the faculty and librarians, as well as provide materials for promoting your new JoVE resources, free of charge.

For faculty using either Campbell Biology or Openstax Biology, JoVE offers Videos Mapped to the textbook.

Advanced support for your faculty and students, including curriculum mapping, LMS integration, and assessment support is available from our Product and Curriculum Specialists. To inquire about this complementary service, please reach out to your account manager or customersuccess@jove.com.

All JoVE videos can be embedded. At this time, Science Education videos have an embed button which allows faculty to directly embed videos in any learning management or ERP system (i.e. Canvas, Blackboard, Banner, Peoplesoft, and Simplicity platforms).


Back to the Top

AccessMedicine

(https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com

 

Custom Curriculum

Custom Curriculum is an online syllabus creation and management tool which allows you to synthesize different content types (textbook chapters, videos, case files, self-assessment) into a targeted set of learning assignments for your students. Content can be pulled from AccessMedicine, as well as non-AccessMedicine sites (e.g., journal articles, blog posts, any web-based content). You also have the ability to run activity reports on your students, including assignment completion rates and scores for any self-assessment quizzes included in the assignments.

With Custom Curriculum you can:

  • Create and streamline the educational workflow;
  • Map content to your educational structure;
  • Create, track, and report usage of rotations online;
  • Select and incorporate related reference content, videos, and animations;
  • Assign quizzes, customize the number of questions, set the passing grades;
  • Create a syllabus based on those from other institutions;
  • Track student progress.

To use Custom Curriculum you will first need to create a personal account with AccessMedicine. This is done by clicking the Sign in button at the top right of the screen when you are on the AccessMedicine website. Initially, you will have to be on a device connected to a Case network (either on campus or on the VPN).  From the Sign In button, click Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile.

Having clicked the Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile link, you will be greeted by the following pop-up window: Click the button to continue.

When you register for a MyAccess profile you can use your credentials to:

  • Use AccessMedicine remotely;
  • Bookmark your favorite content;
  • Track your self-assessment progress;
  • Log Continuing Medical Education (CME)

Remote access to AccessMedicine is provided for a period of 90 days, which renews back to 90 days whenever you sign into your MyAccess Profile while at your institution or are authenticated through your institution's proxy access. If your 90 days has expired, you must login with your MyAccess Profile while at your institution or while authenticated through your institution's proxy to reset your remote access to the maximum of 90 days.

Other content in AccessMedicine includes the following:

  • Harrison's Internal Medicine
  • Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment
  • Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine
  • Schwartz's Principles of Surgery
  • Williams Obstetrics

But there is much more than just the textbook content, for instance, Harrison's includes chapters that are only available online, as well as the Harrison's Grand Rounds Lecture Series, including presentations with Category 1 CME credit.  And there are over 100 titles with such content, including:

  • thousands of downloadable high-quality images and radiographs
  • more than two hundred videos of diagnostic procedures
  • an app that lets you get content wherever you are

 

Other Features of AccessMedicine include:

Clerkship Corner

  • Content typically needed for a rotation in Internal Medicine
  • Allows you and the Clerks to maximize time by locating content where you need it

Multimedia

  • Auscultation Classroom: 20+ audio files of common auscultatory findings
  • Diagnostic and Imaging Studies: Videos include Cardiovascular studies, Fetal Ultrasonography, Gastrointestinal studies, Pulmonary studies, and Rheumatology studies.
  • Harrison's Pathophysiology Animations: 20 animations from Aortic Stenosis to Stroke Risk Assessment
  • Harrison's Podclass :discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the acclaimed  Harrison’s Self-Assessment and Board Review. 
  • Human Anatomy Modules: interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed.
  • Lectures in Anatomy, Diagnostic Reasoning, Genetics, Neurology, and Pharmacology
  • Patient Interview: 21 Patient Interviews from an Acutely Ill Patient to Disclosing Medical Errors
  • Patient Safety Modules: from Handwashing to Communication Concepts
  • Pharmacology: Videos include the physiological effects of drugs on Cardiology, Neurology, and include video lectures on Pharmacodynamics & Pharmacokinetics
  • Physical Exam: Videos on Neurology, Ophthalmology, and Orthopedics
  • Procedural Videos in Dermatology, Emergency Medicine/Intensive Care, Gastroenterology/Hepatology, Gynecology, Neurology, Orthopedics, and Pulmonology.
  • Differential Diagnosis Tool – Connect to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, a tool that saves you time by allowing you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.


Practice Guidelines are annually updated guidelines from Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care that assist in disease screening, prevention, and management by providing succinct digest versions of longer original guidelines.

Diagnostic Tests from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.

Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice – perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.

Self-Assessment – Extensive Q&A from leading references such as Harrison’s Self-Assessment and Board Review and the LANGE textbooks to assist students and residents in exam preparation.

2 Minute Medicine – Concise and curated reviews and summaries of new medical studies. Studies are rated for the appraisal of evidence-based medicine.

Customizable Patient Education – Comprehensive, reliable healthcare information for adults, pediatrics, and medicines, available in multiple languages and for thousands of topics to help you help your patients understand their care and improve their health status. 

Integrated Drug Database – Look up dosing, indications, and adverse reactions quickly for generic and brand-name drugs, with printable patient handouts presented in English and Spanish.

Downloadable Images - Tens of thousands of photos and illustrations to aid in visual diagnosis are available to save and download to presentations for educational purposes.

Cases – A selection of cases from across the popular Case FilesTM series and Pathophysiology of Disease helps medical students better understand and evaluate real world experiences by offering questions to frame the case and the approach to the patient. 

CME – Receive CME credit for searches and prepare for in-services, certification, and recertification with content that covers a broad area of medicine.

AccessMedicine App

The AccessMedicine app delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for clinical practice through these mobile features:

  • Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice – perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.
  • Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions, plus a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases. 
  • Differential Diagnosis Tool provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a McGraw-Hill Medical tool that efficiently allows you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
  • Diagnostic Tests, from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.

Back to the Top

ClinicalKey

(https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/)

ClinicalKey does NOT offer a complimentary service, instead institutions subscribe to ClinicalKey Student.  ClinicalKey Student is an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty by enhancing the learning experience with tools tailored to develop and assess the medical knowledge of aspiring professionals.

If you have interest in this product or would like a trial, please email me.


Using ClinicalKey

When you first come to the ClinicalKey interface you’ll see the following:

ClinicalKey Main InterfaceIf you know you’ll be using ClinicalKey frequently, you should sign up for an account (upper right corner).  The account will provide you access to some solid features in ClinicalKey, including: saving/storing images, videos, and multimedia; obtaining CME credits and registering them with the appropriate CME body; creating presentations and sharing them; storing searches and receiving content updates.

The main search interface allows you to search all content in ClinicalKey by simply typing in your search term or terms.  Alternatively, you can limit your search to certain Types of content by selecting your content source from the drop down (All Types).  As you can see from the image, you can also access Saved Searches and your Search History.  Content Types include: Books, Journals, Clinical Overviews, Clinical Trials, Drug Monographs, Guidelines, Patient Education, Multimedia, Procedure Videos, Clinical Calculators, and Clinical Focus.

If you’d rather not rely on the Search features, you can instead Browse the various topic areas.

 

Books

The Books topic area provides several access points for you: Specialties, Search, and an Alphabetical Listing by title.  You can also limit your interaction based on Subscribed Content, which is to say limit your view options to just those topics which you’ve selected.  Currently there are 73 Specialty areas from which you can select Book titles, and each Specialty lists the number of various titles associated with it.

The standard interface for Books shows the cover image of the book at the right side of the screen along with the author and copyright date.  To the left is the Book Title, Edition, followed by the Table of Contents. Each Chapter of a book is likewise laid out in a uniform presentation, with access to granular subdivisions within each chapter provided by links at the left, with the main content provided in the middle.  At the bottom of each entry, the chapter provides links forward to the next chapter and backward to the previous chapter.  As well, above the image of the cover of the Book, you can select CME to access any continuing medical education components associated with the particular title or chapters, you can Save the book chapter, Download the chapter as a PDF, or email it.  Additionally, there are avenues to purchase the book or request rights to use the material.

For CME to work properly, you must configure your profile to work by clicking the “Manage Boards” button to add your medical board information, then you can “Claim Credit” and “View Claimed” credits.  There is also a section of Maintenance of Certification (MOC).

 

Journals

The Journal topic area is very similar to that of the Books topical area, but with 49 Specialty areas.  The main access points are the same: a list of Specialties, a Search box, and an Alphabetical listing by title.

The standard interface for Journals shows the cover image for the Journal at the left side of the screen followed by Issue information and the current date for the image.  Beneath the image is a listing of all Journal Volumes provided by ClinicalKey, though note this may not be all the volumes in the journal’s history.  When you click on a volume, the issues in the volume are revealed.  Additionally, above the volume listing is “Articles in Press,” which provides access to future articles which are currently in manuscript form.

Beside the image of the journal cover is a search box, providing a search feature for the journal, as well as some additional features, including an RSS feed for the journal, an option to subscribe to the journal, and an option to save the journal. Again, these features require you to be registered with ClinicalKey, so be sure to create an account.

 

Clinical Overviews

The Clinical Overviews topic area is very similar to that of both the Books and Journals topical area, but with 36 Specialty areas.  The main access points are the same: a list of Specialties on the left side, a Search box, and an Alphabetical listing by title.

The standard interface for Clinical Overviews provides a left side menu that breaks the Clinical Overview into sections: Synopsis, Terminology, Diagnosis, Treatment, Complications and Prognosis, and References.  The main article on the page reinforces these sections by providing more comprehensive information, so for instance, the Synopsis provides Key Points and Pitfalls. If there is cause for great concern about the clinical problem, there will be provided an Urgent Action section at the right side of the page with interventions that may be necessary.
As with the Book topic area, you can select CME to access any continuing medical education components associated with the particular Clinical Overview, you can Save the overview, email the overview or print it.

 

Drug Monographs

ClinicalKey uses Elsevier’s Gold Standard Drug Database to provide drug information. The Drug Monograph section of ClinicalKey provides access to information on hundreds of drugs, organized by Drug Class, Adverse Reactions, Indications, and Contraindications.  As with the topical areas that came before it, Drug information can also be searched and browsed alphabetically.

A standard entry for a particular drug includes a left side navigation area that provides access to the main entry information on Indications & Dosage, Administration, Monitoring Parameters, Contraindications, Interactions, Adverse Reactions, Classifications, and References.  The main entry can be saved, emailed, or printed.

 

Guidelines

Very like the topical categories above, Guidelines are organized around 67 Specialties, and each specialty provides one or more entries.  Guidelines can be searched and browsed alphabetically.

The standard entry for a Guideline consists of the information published by the governing body or college from which the recommendation comes: for instance, the 2010 Rheumatoid arthritis classification criteria comes from the American College of Rheumatology/European League Against Rheumatism collaborative initiative. You can Save Guidelines, email them, or print them.

 

Patient Education

Patient Education is arranged very like the above topical areas into 34 Specialties.  The Patient Education topics can also be searched or browsed alphabetically.

The standard interface for Patient Education provides a left side menu that breaks the educational topics into sections that highlight the features of the main article. For example, the Patient Education topic on SIDS Prevention is broken into What actions can be taken?, Where to find information, and a Summary.  Out to the right, each Patient Education topic is available in a number of languages. You can Save Guidelines, email them, or print them.

 

Multimedia

This category is broken down by both Specialty and Multimedia Type.  There are 87 Specialty areas covered by the Multimedia category and two types: Video and Images.  Each Specialty category lists the number of items contained within it, many drawn from articles or book chapters.

When you select an image or video, you view it initially in a pop-up window.  The frame enclosing the image/vide offers the user the option to Save, Add to Presentation, Email, or Print it. Additionally, at the bottom of the frame, the user may View in source or View full size.

One of the more interesting features of the Multimedia category is the Presentation feature.  If you are working on a presentation, or would like your student to work on a presentation, he/she can click the Add to Presentation button and then create a New Presentation, or Add the multimedia asset to an existing Presentation.

The presentation created is saved as a PowerPoint presentation, with ClinicalKey branding included.  It’s a rather clunky thing all-in-all, but points for trying.

 

Procedure Videos

There are 9 Specialty areas for Procedure Videos, each with 1 to 95 supporting videos within the Specialty.

A procedural video contains the title of the Procedure, the video, and underneath a listing of when the content was last reviewed and who was responsible for the content.

The content is given CPT Codes, and then the Procedure is arranged by Full Details: including Pre-Procedure, Introduction, Indications, Contraindications, Equipment, Anatomy, and each has Clinical Pearls throughout.  The Procedure is demonstrated as is any Post-Procedural Care that is required.  Finally, there are sections on Complications, Analysis of Results, and References.  As with other sections, the category can be saved, emailed, or printed. There is no immediately apparent way to download the video.

R2 Digital Library

(www.R2Library.com

 

About

The R2 Digital Library from Rittenhouse is a scientific, technical and medical eBook database that provides access to the leading health science publishers on a web‐based platform optimized for the health sciences.

R2 provides access to thousands of eBooks from more than fifty STM publishers.

 

Access

The R2 Digital Library can be accessed with any web-enabled device. Simply type www.R2Library.com into your browser. Depending on your institution’s access method, you will either be automatically authenticated or have to enter your user name and password.

 

Content

The R2 Digital Library Content & Collections:

  • Medicine, Nursing, Allied Health, Dental, Veterinary, Osteopathic, Physician Assistant and Consumer Health Collections
  • DCT (Doody Core Titles) Medicine, Nursing, Allied Health Collections
  • AJN Books of the Year
  • Health Administration Essentials
  • Nursing and Resident Essentials
  • Free Resources
  • Nursing Standards and Guidelines

 

Features

  • Topic-driven navigation, search results are returned at section level
  • Video Content
  • R2 citations can be exported in APA, Refworks, Endnote or Procite formats
  • More than 3 million images and videos which can be used for educational purposes
  • Persistent URLs (at the section level)
  • R2 is compatible with course management software
  • Content access via tablet and smart phone
  • 28 OER (Open Educational Resources) free eBooks
  • Browse by discipline, publisher, or title
  • Printing, emailing, and saving
  • References can be saved
  • Outreach and training materials

 

Browse

Browse by Discipline (screenshot), Publication Title, Author, or Publisher.

Search the collection or use an Advanced Search option to filter or refine your search. When searching the collection, results from multiple eBooks are returned at the chapter and section level. Results are displayed based on relevancy, with eBooks featuring indexed terms appearing first.

 

Search

  • Search results are generated from your library’s eBook collection
  • Results are returned based on relevancy
  • Cover image, bibliographic information and brief synopsis included with each search result
  • Use the jump bar to move through search results
  • Use the sorts and filters along the left-hand navigation bar to refine your search 

 

Functionality

When accessing the contents of an eBook, you can:

  • Browse and search an eBook using the Browse & Search Contents drop box
  • Use the Topics dropbox to jump directly to a topic
  • Use the Tools dropbox (screenshot) to print, email, and save sections
  • Click on any hyperlinked term to launch a new search across your library’s eBook collection
  • Click on any image or table to expand it in the reading pane (all images and tables are embedded into R2 Digital Library eBooks)
  • View relevant references, including links where applicable

 

 

Image search

To search for images, simply type your search term in the Quick Search box and then choose the “Images” filter in the left hand navigation box. This will filter your search results to only display those with an associated image. Once you are within a section, the image will be embedded within the section. You can expand or save any image on the R2 Digital Library.

 

A-Z Index

The R2 Digital Library features an A-Z index that includes drug names, diseases and topics. This index is dynamic and pulled directly from your library’s R2 Digital Library eBook collection. This index can be filtered and sorted to enhance discoverability.

 

My R2

The My R2 area of the R2 Digital Library allows you to save images, sections, deep links and more for future use. Please note that to save from session to session, your library must enable user names and passwords so that you can create your unique profile over time. You may also use the My R2 area without a user name and password to save information over a single session.

LWW Health Library

(https://meded-lwwhealthlibrary-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/index.aspx)

According to Wolters Kluwer, LWW Health Library meets the needs of educators and institutions by providing a single portal to foundational and clinical science content, as well as rich multimedia ancillaries for teaching and learning. LWW Health Library provides users access to authoritative content, as well as multimedia assets. Current content includes: 

  • Pharmacy
  • Medical Education
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy
  • Speech, Language and Hearing
  • Oncology
  • Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Anesthesiology
  •  Surgery

The Health Library platform delivers trusted health science education and clinical content directly to students, faculty, and staff through a single online portal—providing interactive online access to essential texts, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks specifically tailored for the specialty.

Facilitates online learning by being able to link to targeted content for students across the curriculum, including valuable multi-media assets.

Subject areas include:

  • Premium Basic Sciences
  • Clerkship
  • Board Review Series
  • Internal Medicine
  • Exercise Science
  • Physical Therapy
  • Physician Assistant (Core and Specialties/Rotations)
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Premium Pharmacy
  • Advanced Practice Nursing
  • Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!

Creating a Personal Account

To begin using LWW Health Library, first create a personal account. Doing so will allow you to see the dashboard pictured to the right, which will allow you to manage your content, self-assessments, favorite media, and assess clinical skills.

You have several options to locate content via the Home Page. The Search function features tagging by subject matter experts, providing optimal discovery and intelligent search. Additionally, there is an Advanced Search function which allows you to limit searches to specific titles, search using exact phrases, or limit searches to Author or Subject.

Or you can Browse by the various content types shown under the Browse heading: Texts, Video & Audio, Self Assessment, Cases, and Clinical Skills.


The Texts content type provides visual access to the core texts which LWW Health Library provides, as pictured to the left.  These texts are broken down into: Anatomy, Behavioral Science, Biochemistry, Embryology, Epidemiology, Genetics, Histology, Intro to Clinical Medicine, Microbiology/Immunology, Neuroscience, Pathology/Pathophysiology, Pharmacology, Physical Examination, Physiology, and Review.

The Video/Audio content type provides access to video and audio from all of the core texts, including Physical Exam videos, anatomy videos from Grant's Atlas, and many Physiology texts.

The Self-Assessment content area provides access to well over one hundred self-assessments, from embryonic development to cellular physiology to the musculoskeletal system to vaccination. The quizzes themselves can be tailored to meet the individual needs of the student, including the number of questions asked, the number of seconds given per question, and the ability to focus on specific areas. By creating a personal account, a student can keep a record of previous quizzes and scores and then create quizzes that focus on weaknesses or areas of difficulty. Additionally, the quizzes can be graded immediately, providing valuable feedback to the student.

The Cases content area provides both faculty and students with access to over one hundred cases that are quite similar to WiseMD and present the students with a Case and the offer questions about possible treatment strategies and things to consider. Case areas consider both ethical and clinical approaches to cases.

Clinical Skills present students with cases where their understanding of clinical tools is challenged. All questions come from Mark's Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, and draw on a variety of subject areas in that text, including hormones, carbs and lipids, glucose, amino acids, and much more.

The Resources section content area provides students with access to a variety of resources to support their learning, including web-based resources, such the cdc.gov, nih.gov, and others, as well as links to guidelines, journal articles, supplemental content from the texts, and tools.

For more information on Faculty Tools provided by LWW Health Library, please visit their site.

Thieme MedOne

https://medone-education.thieme.com


Using MedOne

When you login to Thieme's MedOne you'll see a standard search bar at the top of the page. To the left of it are two buttons: Home and My MedOne.  Further down, you'll see a Filter option which lets you filter content by source: E-Books, Playlists, Images/Videos/Audio, and Questions and Answers.  As well, you can filter by Subject areas.

To the right of the Filter area is a My Favorites area, which includes books you've saved and any Playlists you've created.  Another tab shows you the content you viewed most recently.  When you are reading a book in MedOne, you simply click the Yellow Star that appears next to the title you would like to save.  You save as many items as you like to My Favorites and re-order them however you like.

E-Book Filter

The E-Book Filter provides a grid of ebooks that is 5 wide by 11 long (155 titles). You can sort them by Sub-Topic, Title, Author/Editor, Alphabetically, or by Publication Date. Selecting a title loads a standard Thieme E-Book content page with options at the top right to download the chapter as a pdf, share it, or open what is called Reader Mode. The Author/Editor is at the top left over the Title in a large font. Beneath is a picture of the front cover, including edition information, date, and a digital object identifier (doi), which is a direct link to the title.  Beneath that are three tabs: Content, Images, and Hits. Content  displays the Table of Contents in a collapsable menu.  Images show any images in the current article/chapter. Hits displays any search terms that you may have used when conducting a search of the MedOne platform or within a title; hits appear highlighted in yellow.  To the right in the E-book content page there is a search bar to search within the E-Book. Below that is the Section/Chapter heading in a small font and, to the right of it, a slider you can use to change the text size. Next there is the Section or Chapter heading, which includes a button for adding the chapter/section to a Playlist, the author of the section/chapter followed by Quick Access links to areas within the page.  Beneath that is the primary content.  The Quick Access links are quite efficient and there is a visual marker (a red circle) that indicates the start point for the Quick Access point you've selected.  At the bottom of a content section is a list of Recommended Reading, Source information, and a button to copy the bibliographic citation information.  There is also a Short link to the section/chapter, and a Next button.

Within the content, you can highlight text and add a Note, Copy, Search, or assign the highlighted selection to a Category. These highlights and noted selections are saved to your My MedOne profile.  You can choose from four colors when highlighting.

Playlist Filter

The Playlist filter is organized in very much the same way as the E-Book Filter, with a section to the right that displays two tabs: My Playlist, and Public Playlists. My Playlists shows you those Playlists that you've created and the number of items saved within it. The Public Playlist shows you Playlists created by others and the number of subscribers to the Playlists.  You can sort Playlists by Name or the Date Updated. A Playlist content page is set up in precisely the same manner as the E-Book content page, with a Share button at the top. Under this, at top left, is an image of the Playlist, below it is options for making the Playlist public or not; beneath that are options to view images, create a Personal Checklist: which includes options to Add Group, Add URL, Upload a logo, or Add a file.  These tools make it possible to create a modest learning platform within the MedOne platform.  To the right is the main content area of the Playlist, including any saved items: Images, Chapters, etc.  You can edit or delete items in your Playlist as well.

 

Images/Videos/Audio Filter

The Images/Videos/Audio Filter area displays, at the right, all of the multimedia content in the MedOne platform: at this time 48,874 items. Items can be sorted in a number of ways, including by Date, Relevance, List, or Grid.  When an item is selected, a new page loads with the selected content.  At the top there are icons for Printing, Loading into PowerPoint, Sending a Message to the Helpdesk, and adding the object to a Playlist or Pinning it to your start page. In the main content area there are thumbnails along the top followed by a viewer.  The image viewer allows you to zoom in and out, rotate the image, bring to its proper size, and open the image in a full window.  At the bottom of the content area is the item number from the E-Book and caption information as well as the Source (citation) and a DOI.

 

Questions and Answers Filter

This filter allows you to Create customized USMLE® style exam sessions and see how you've performed in the past. You can create a Review Session, which is defined as "A review session allows you to access answers and related explanations as you complete the questions. Additionally, review sessions can be extended if the time you have allotted runs out. Your session is available to review after completion as well;" or a Practice Exam, which is defined as "A practice exam hides all additional information besides the question and multiple-choice answers. The exam is finished when you select “finish session” or when time expires. Your exam is available for review, with correct answers and related explanations displayed, after it is completed."

When you Create a Session you can set the Number of Questions to be asked, the Time (duration) of the session, and set a time (duration) for each question.  There is a pool, currently of 1083 questions.  You can limit the Sessions by Subject Area, Organ System, or Clinical Vignette.  There are also options for how the questions display, including those you've Selected Before (or not), With Images (or without), and those you've Previously Answered Correctly (or Incorrectly).  And, finally, a button to Start the Session.

At the top of the Exam area are three tabs: Create Session, Recent Sessions, and Statistics.  The Statistics section is of considerable value as it lets you benchmark your performance and see previous results and times.

 

Using My MedOne

When you're logged in to the Thieme MedOne platform you can take advantage of the My MedOne features.  These features include: Taking Notes and Highlighting, creating a User Profile, My Playlists, My Content, as well as entering access codes and activating journal subscriptions to some content.

 

Taking Notes and Highlighting

Taking Notes and Highlighting is the default view when My MedOne loads. There are two tabs in the main content area: Resources/Content, and Category.  The Resources/Content area displays any content that you've saved while using the platform (clicking the yellow star), and the Category tab shows any categories you've created while saving content or creating a Playlist.

User Profile

The User Profile tab shows your personal information and the products to which you have access.

 

My Playlists

This section shows the Playlists you've created and actually throws you OUT of the My MedOne area and back into the Home page area of MedOne.

 

My Content

The My Content button takes you to the default view of the MedOne Platform, which is the E-Book category.

In the My MedOne area there's also a section where you can Compare Images.  To Compare Images you enter the Images/Videos/Audio section and select two to four images.  To do so, there is small selection box at the lower right corner of each thumbnail.  To compare images, select two or more images and then click the Compare Images button at the lower right of the page.  A new page loads with the Thieme MedOne image viewer and the two images side by side.

https://medone-education.thieme.com

 

About MedOne

Thieme is an international medical and science publisher that has been serving health professionals and students for more than 125 years.

MedOne is Thieme's platform for accessing Books, Images, Videos, Audio and other material that covers topics from Anatomy to Urology.  

There are 155 eBooks available through the platform, and over 48,000 images, videos, and audio files.  

Additionally, you can create tailored USMLE-style exam questions in any number of subject areas, organ systems, and check your results. 

 

 

 

Playlist

MedOne also has a Playlist feature, which allows users to assemble favorite content collections in MedOne. Users can use their playlist as a private collection of content or share the playlist with other MedOne users. To create a Playlist, you will need to log‐on with a MedOne username/password. Go to the MedOne home page, and click the Playlists tab appearing under the Sources/Content section. From there, you'll follow the prompts to create your personal Playlist. All MedOne Education content to which Case subscribes can be added to your playlist by clicking the yellow star. You can add a book, you can add a chapter, you can add URLs to content, and content can be added, deleted, and shared.

 

E-Book Library

According to Thieme, Ebook Library content provides access to:

  • Focused coverage of every clinical and scientific course in the medical school curriculum
  • Practical two-page units featuring clear, concise text alongside full-color illustrations for easy reference and review
  • Ideal course supplement, study companion, and refresher for students and educators
  • Essential research resource for scientists and clinicians from every discipline
  • Constant expansion keeps subscribers abreast of new topics

You can also:

  • Access high-quality full-color illustrations;
  • Download books quickly, save and read full-text downloads offline;
  • Navigate through interactive tables of content and detailed indexes;
  • Use advanced searching tools for conducting field and full-text searches within individual books or throughout the entire E-Book Library;
  • Create personalized accounts that allow you to create bookshelves, set bookmarks, add notes, copy and print content directly, or download and print full chapters;

Thieme E-Book Library The Thieme E-Book Library provides students, researchers and clinicians unlimited online access to a collection of lavishly illustrated full-color downloadable medical textbooks from Thieme’s renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series. The books systematically cover every course in the medical school curriculum, making them an exceptional resource for learning, review, and research in medicine and the life sciences.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Thomas Hayes
Contact:
11000 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
216-368-3642