Skip to main content

The Cole Collection in the Cleveland Health Sciences Library: Home

Peterson 1

Plan a Visit


Location

Allen Memorial Medical Library
11000 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
(across from Severance Hall, home to the Cleveland Orchestra)

Office Hours

Monday - Friday: 8AM - 4:30PM
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

By Appointment

Monday - Friday: 8:30AM - 4:30PM (as staffing permits)

Contact

 

Thomas Hayes's picture
Thomas Hayes
Contact:
11000 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
216-368-3642

Cole Collection

Strongest in the area of syphilis, this collection has good coverage of all the venereal diseases. The collection includes the first edition of Girolamo Fracastoro’s Syphilis, sive Morbus Gallicus (1530), which is a long poem that gave rise to the term “syphilis.” Another important work is the first Latin edition of Ulrich von Hutten’s Treatise on Guaiac, De Guaiaci Medicina et Morbo Gallico (1519). Guaiac wood was considered to be a cure for syphilis. Other works include one by John Hunter and the beautiful dermatological atlas of Jean Louis Marc Alibert.

Dr. Cole’s career was long and distinguished. Following graduation from Western Reserve in 1909, he pursued postgraduate study in Zurich and Paris. It has been said that while living in Paris (1911-12) “he succumbed to the blandishment of the bookstalls,” and thus began his lifelong joy of collecting. Upon return to Cleveland, Cole established an active practice and taught as Clinical Professor of Dermatology and Syphilology. He was a Trustee and President (1950-51) of the Cleveland Medical Library Association, as well as a founder of the American Board of Dermatology and Syphilology, President of the American Dermatological Society (1933-34), and corresponding member of many dermatological societies in Europe and South America.

Find out More


About the CHSL

About the CMLA

Research Rare Collections

Rare Book Services

Collections

Information & Policies

Giving