Skip to main content

Marshall Collection in the Cleveland Health Sciences Library: Home

Shelves

Plan a Visit


Location

Allen Memorial Medical Library
11000 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
(across from Severance Hall, home to the Cleveland Orchestra)

Office Hours

Monday - Friday: 8AM - 4:30PM
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

By Appointment

Monday - Friday: 8:30AM - 4:30PM (as staffing permits)

Contact

 

Thomas Hayes's picture
Thomas Hayes
Contact:
11000 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
216-368-3642

Marshall Collection

This collection was acquired in 1946 from the estate of George Gehring Marshall, president of the Marshall Drug Company of Cleveland.

The collection has approximately 300 works, including some of the rarest jewels in botanical literature and coincidentally in medical history, with its strength centered in over 125 titles printed before 1700.

These books, written to describe the medicinal uses of plants, provide a printed record of medical knowledge and plant-lore from the Greeks through the Renaissance. For students of history and art, they document the development of printing and book illustration.

The collection has six incunabula, including the seminal herbal, Herbarius, printed by Peter Schoeffer in 1484, and a complete copy of Le grant herbier en francois, printed in Paris by Pierre LeCaron. It also includes the most important of the 16th and 17th century herbalists, including Otto BrunfelsLeonhart Fuchs, and Hieronymus Bock.

Find out More


About the CHSL

About the CMLA

Research Rare Collections

Rare Book Services

Collections

Information & Policies

Giving