CHSL LibGuides: Nursing: Point of Care Tools

Practice Guidelines

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Online search tool designed to provide answers to clinical questions. This tool, the content of which is updated daily, draws from a collection of clinical resources covering all medical and surgical specialties, and provides journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information, and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed

Patient Education

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
See Patient Education Handouts. Includes medical textbooks, a multi-media library, a differential diagnosis tool, reference guides, images, case studies, and more.

CDC Website
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) provides direct access to important health and safety topics, scientific articles, data and statistics, tools and resources – and over 900 topics in the CDC.gov A-Z Index.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Online search tool designed to provide answers to clinical questions. This tool, the content of which is updated daily, draws from a collection of clinical resources covering all medical and surgical specialties, and provides journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information and calculators, and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text content covering key areas of health and wellness, including on subjects such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition, and dietetics. Information is presented in popular and journals, encyclopedias and reference books, health reports, and audio-visual formats.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Offers information on health topics, human genetics, medical tests, medications, dietary supplements, and healthy recipes. Offers almost 22,000 links to authoritative health information in English and more than 13,000 links to information in Spanish.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Platform for American Psychiatric Publishing (APP) journals, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, 5th ed. (DSM-5), textbooks, American Psychological Association (APA) Practice Guidelines, continuing medical education, and information on psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, news, and research. Includes patient education materials.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care clinical resource. Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.