CHSL LibGuides: Nursing: Find Articles & Databases

Top Nursing Databases

The following databases will help you find nursing nursing research articles, practice articles, clinical guidelines, patient education, and reference materials on a variety of topics.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing more than 37 million citations and abstracts of life sciences and biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Includes links to full-text content from PubMed Central (public access) and external databases to which CWRU subscribes.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that covers nursing, biomedicine, consumer health and many other allied health disciplines. Contents include full-text journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Searchable database with more than 22 million articles from more than 7600 scientific journals in pharmacology and medicine, including about 2000 journals not indexed in Medline (PubMed). Topics covered include drug research, toxicology, dependence and abuse, clinical and experimental medicine, health care, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biotechnology.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that includes research and scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.

Additional Nursing Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Try searching for "anatomy." Includes anatomy, physiology, and medical textbooks; a multi-media library, a differential diagnosis tool, reference guides, images, case studies, and more.

ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Non-CWRU users can access the public version of ERIC at eric.ed.gov. The world's largest source of education information; covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. Coverage: 1966 - present.
Education (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Provides coverage for a wide range of topics including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and special education.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties.

Journal of School Nursing (JOSN)
The official research publication of the National Association of School Nurses (www.nasn.org), published bimonthly, peer-reviewed and aims to improve the health of school children and the health of the school community. Publishes scholarly articles, including original research, brief research reports, literature reviews, evidenced-based innovations in clinical practice or policy, and letters to the editor.

AgeLine This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material relevant to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users for business, industry, leadership, and company articles (academic, peer-reviewed, trade literature), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). Create My Research account to save documents.

Nursing Leadership Journals
Nursing administration, leadership, and management journals offered by the Cleveland Health Sciences Library.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material relevant to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association
The official journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association and has the largest readership of psychiatric-mental health nurse academics and scientists, at RN and advanced practice levels, of any nursing specialty journal. A bimonthly peer-reviewed journal that publishes original research and practice-focused articles, editorials, interviews, briefings, letters to the editors, etc.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
See Drug Monographs section. Includes medical textbooks, a multi-media library, a differential diagnosis tool, reference guides, images, case studies, and more.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Designed to provide answers to clinical questions. This tool, the content of which is updated daily, draws from a collection of clinical resources covering all medical and surgical specialties, and provides journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information, and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Searchable database available to CWRU users. Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes pharmacological content.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care clinical resource. Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.