The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
Henry Stewart Talks Ltd (HSTalks) is a leading provider of specially prepared, animated, online, audio-visual lectures, seminar-style talks and case studies for medical schools, business schools, universities, and commercial enterprises in over 60 countries around the world.
Based in London, UK, HSTalks publishes two highly regarded collections (The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection and The Business & Management Collection). They are both available on annual subscription with licenses granting unlimited access 24 hours a day every day of the year.
Editors and lecturers are leading world experts and practitioners, including Nobel Laureates, drawn from academia, research institutes, commerce, industry, the professions, and government. The collections are continuously expanded and updated and may be easily embedded in online learning environments such as Moodle and Blackboard.
HSTalks is a member of the Henry Stewart Group which has been a leader in providing graduate and continuing professional education in science, business and management for over 40 years through peer reviewed vocational journals, conferences, and online education for medical schools, business schools, universities, government, and commercial enterprises.
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection (TBLSC) contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centers, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies.
There are over 2,000 contributing editors and speakers, complete series of lectures covering both the fundamentals and the latest thinking and developments, complete course modules with full supporting material (suggestions for projects, workshops and tutorials); recommended reading (research papers, review articles and book chapters); multiple choice questions and suggested exam questions with bullet points of model answers), accredited tests for US Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and UK Continuing Professional Development (Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine of the Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom) and more than 100,000 slides. All content can be embedded in Moodle, Blackboard and other online learning environments.
HSTalks offers a complimentary recommendation service matching multimedia content to your needs. As a Faculty member, you can send your syllabus to HSTalks, and a representative at HSTalks will match content to your curriculum.
Content provided by HSTalks can be used to support courses, including:
Full access to the collection should be immediate when on campus/onsite by entering www.hstalks.com/biosci in your browser. If there is any difficulty contact your library or HSTalks Support.
Once you have access to the site, you can Sign Up for a personal account and log in later from remote or offsite locations to access content.
Searching content can be done via a search box, then searches can be refined or filtered. Searches can also be done via the Browse method, by exploring a Subject Area and looking through content.
Content displays initially with the Title of the talk, the presenter/author, the institution, and the date published. Next is a series statement, identifying where in the content collection the material resides, followed by a brief abstract of the content.
Under the abstract, you can click Play to view the lecture; More Details, which provides a list of Topics Covered, a Slide Index, a Speaker Bio, and MeSH Headings; or Watch Later, which will save the lecture if you have a personal account.
In the Presentation View, pictured below, you can view the presentation, view printable handouts, view the slides and navigate a slide index, view the topics covered, view links to other material in HSTalks, and view citation information: including publication information and disclosures regarding conflict of interest.
Also, on the presentation page is a button you can use to embed content in your course platform.
