According to Wolters Kluwer, LWW Health Library meets the needs of educators and institutions by providing a single portal to foundational and clinical science content, as well as rich multimedia ancillaries for teaching and learning. LWW Health Library provides users access to authoritative content, as well as multimedia assets. Current content includes:
The Health Library platform delivers trusted health science education and clinical content directly to students, faculty, and staff through a single online portal—providing interactive online access to essential texts, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks specifically tailored for the specialty.
Facilitates online learning by being able to link to targeted content for students across the curriculum, including valuable multi-media assets.
Subject areas include:
To begin using LWW Health Library, first create a personal account. Doing so will allow you to see the dashboard pictured to the right, which will allow you to manage your content, self-assessments, favorite media, and assess clinical skills.
You have several options to locate content via the Home Page. The Search function features tagging by subject matter experts, providing optimal discovery and intelligent search. Additionally, there is an Advanced Search function which allows you to limit searches to specific titles, search using exact phrases, or limit searches to Author or Subject.
Or you can Browse by the various content types shown under the Browse heading: Texts, Video & Audio, Self Assessment, Cases, and Clinical Skills.
The Texts content type provides visual access to the core texts which LWW Health Library provides, as pictured to the left. These texts are broken down into: Anatomy, Behavioral Science, Biochemistry, Embryology, Epidemiology, Genetics, Histology, Intro to Clinical Medicine, Microbiology/Immunology, Neuroscience, Pathology/Pathophysiology, Pharmacology, Physical Examination, Physiology, and Review.
The Video/Audio content type provides access to video and audio from all of the core texts, including Physical Exam videos, anatomy videos from Grant's Atlas, and many Physiology texts.
The Self-Assessment content area provides access to well over one hundred self-assessments, from embryonic development to cellular physiology to the musculoskeletal system to vaccination. The quizzes themselves can be tailored to meet the individual needs of the student, including the number of questions asked, the number of seconds given per question, and the ability to focus on specific areas. By creating a personal account, a student can keep a record of previous quizzes and scores and then create quizzes that focus on weaknesses or areas of difficulty. Additionally, the quizzes can be graded immediately, providing valuable feedback to the student.
The Cases content area provides both faculty and students with access to over one hundred cases that are quite similar to WiseMD and present the students with a Case and the offer questions about possible treatment strategies and things to consider. Case areas consider both ethical and clinical approaches to cases.
Clinical Skills present students with cases where their understanding of clinical tools is challenged. All questions come from Mark's Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, and draw on a variety of subject areas in that text, including hormones, carbs and lipids, glucose, amino acids, and much more.
The Resources section content area provides students with access to a variety of resources to support their learning, including web-based resources, such the cdc.gov, nih.gov, and others, as well as links to guidelines, journal articles, supplemental content from the texts, and tools.
For more information on Faculty Tools please visit the LWW Health Library website.